View of the outside world from inside a fishbowl

June 2, 2010

Goodness. Still not a lost cause.

Filed under: insights,philosophy — coolantz @ 9:05 am

I admit. I’m a little cynical.

Then there are these defining moments in life, when I see goodness around me. In humanity. It gives me a reason to look forward to the next day with hope and expectations.

My current workplace team.

I was  a firm believer, that people work because they needed money, and no one really worked because they liked it. Heck I even convinced my self that my reason to work is just the same. But there is another cause that keeps me going. I do like what I do. Anyways, had never come across someone who shared these sentiments with me.

Now especially when you’re assigning work off to someone. I’ve never seen people take things with a smile and face gleaming with excitement. Until I came across the current lot of people I work with.

They are young, talented, and focused … and good.

Why the ‘extra’ good there?

Here’s why. They care about each other, and me. I mean, when any one gets major types jammed up in a problem, or generally sort of there. As in “All for one, one for All”. A few are very responsible as well. Over all, a real pleasure to work with.

They all listen to each others problems,  and work like a really well oiled machine. They affected a change in my own, hardened by the time attitude.

The Petrol Pump Attendant.

I got back late the other night, and had my head in a dizzy, so I decided to take cleo out for a spin. That made it feel breezy and cleared up my head. But towards the end of the ride, I realized I was going to be out of fuel,  and out of money. When I reached the ATM, I realized my locking mechanism had been thrown out. was jammed in a way, that I was not able to lock it. It was a very easy theft target.

Anyways, I decided to leave it like that, and go to the ATM.

Then I walked up to a Petrol pump attendant, and explained to him my problem.

First of all, this was like quite late in the night, it was a rather warm night, so the goodness due to good weather can easily be ruled out her.

But the attendant asked me, if he could try to fix it. I was like sure… go ahead.

So, he got some lubricant, and a screw driver, and he did some tweaking. Then when I re tried my keys, they were so nice and smooth.

Now none of this was expected of him. He did not expect any reward for it (or may be, he did), but he never said it out like …. “I’ll do this for so much of money”. I have seen people who do that. He smiled and I pushed off. But I wanted him to be rewarded. I went to a nearby shop, bought a chocolate, and got some change in money, and I went back to the same petrol pump, and scouted for the attendant. Sure enough, I found him. He was actively filling the petrol pump’s reservoir from those huge tankers that land in.

When he saw me, I did not have to call out for him. He came running, and asked me if my lock has any problems.

“None … whatsoever”. I replied. Told him, that he’s really done a good job, keep that up. Gave him a chocolate, and some candy money.  He politely refused, but I insisted, and he finally accepted.

Such people should go places! I root for them.

2 Comments »

  1. […] author: Philosophy « WordPress.com Tag Feed […]

    Pingback by Goodness. Still not a lost cause. | rssblogstory.com — June 2, 2010 @ 9:10 am | Reply

  2. […] project, with a client who was pretty demanding. Net result : we had to up our game, and work as a team. The project was fun, and we had our shares of highs and lows. As a result, I got to know T better. […]

    Pingback by A Grand plan. « View of the outside world from inside a fishbowl — March 19, 2011 @ 5:53 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

