View of the outside world from inside a fishbowl

April 5, 2010

Gadgets I could fry with.

Filed under: humor,insights — coolantz @ 11:52 am
Tags:

In continuation with my ongoing battle with the Delhi summer heat this year, I had decided to make my room free of the electronic equipment, that contributes to the largest amount of heat generated. I did some active profiling, and I’m kind of surprised, that my bulky PC, which I had assumed would generate massive amounts of heat (and had it in my hit list), was not so bad.

In fact, in terms of the temperature   additions, my Laptop with a NVIDIA quadro graphics card was a bigger bully.

So, here are a list of five things that should be replaced with better designs (in reverse ranking order).

5. The UPS powering my HTPC rig. I should have bought an inverter, where power switching did not result in such a delay that computer would not trip. Such designs are easily available now. At the time when I bought my power inverters, they weren’t so common place. So I had to add another UPS in between.  Bad choice.

4. The 60 watt bulbs in the room. I got to replace these with CFLs . What if I do want a bright spot of light. CFL’s to not give a crisp light source. They are more for the ambient lights, like tube lights, that do not cast a precise shadow. Maybe their use can be limited, so I can live with these lights. They come up for like half an hour a day, and then CFL kicks in.

3.The HTPC. Hey now, I need something to keep me entertained. Maybe I should replace the bulk with an NVIDIA ion based box like thingy, which would humble my existing setup, both in terms of raw graphics capabilities, and heat generated.

2.The mighty laptop. Yep, my work machine. Do I need that fire power ?  At times, I do, This is a very sensitive topic, I suppose. I think not much can be done in this regard. It’s not just my fun, but the source of bread and butter for me. Had I been filthy rich, I’d probably say, let’s have a separate study room altogether. But filthy richness is a solution to most of the man-made problems, and some natural ones too :).

1. The LCD screen. Yeah , the coveted number one slot in “how much heat one generates” surely goes to my TV screen. I wonder, how this becomes a smart efficient design then. The old CRT based TVs did never become as hot as my Samsung LCD does. Is it a defective piece? It’s only a 32 inch screen. But it heats up like a hot plate. Maybe there’s too much of sex on television these days.

Do tell me your experiences with LCDs. And I thought they were more power friendly by design. I need to profile this one for power consumption as well. I think I’d be surprised for all my beliefs.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

