View of the outside world from inside a fishbowl

February 12, 2010

Arrrrrggggghhhhh!!

Filed under: humor — coolantz @ 9:50 pm

What I need to do!

Kick Ass

Have you ever felt the urge to punch your Computer screen so hard that your hand pops out from across it (as shown in some cartoons).  I would usually not advocate violence to relieve the agony, but I make an exception here.

Well, it was a regular day at work. (Actually far from it ) Most offices had a day off, but my employer decided not to give us commoners the option. So, I suppose that is the point frustration started to build up for me. I had decided, that I’d leave office sooner than usual, and chill out at home, or catch a movie or have a game.

Work it seems, has a mind of its own. Throw computer into the mixture, and you have a heady mix. What was I even thinking? I was checking out the tasks assigned to me for the day, and thought to myself, I’ll cover them in 4 hours, and then I could check out the latest sites and just while away the time.

Now people familiar with Murphy’s laws would agree unanimously, that the “real” problem I ran into would be right at the end. Smirk away all you want … you mean devil.

It turned out to be a smooth sailing . Till lunch, I had all but one bug squashed. And I said to myself, I’ll peek into thin one, after an hour of whiling during the lunch time. It’s jut one more to the many I had done since morning. So, I started at it.

Something about it made me feel uneasy. I’ll try to be more explicit : It felt like I had already done this once. Like bad “déjà vu”.

Anyways, I double checked. My program was not working as expected. So I saw the history of what people had done to it, (for technical people :  I checked the SVN log). I had made it in the past, but it seems somewhere down the line, things had been muddled with, but not by me. Now, since there had been some design changes, I could not simply revert back to the old file. I decided to rewrite it , instead of wasting my time merging and testing.

so I rewrote a part of it, and gave it a customary twirl, when it was still a half baked cake. It seemed to be nicely on track.

But the uneasy feeling would just not go away.

Well, the previous blooper I described, was only the tip of what I was about to unearth :).

Browsing around for some information, I hit another file in my program’s source code, that gave me the goosebumps. It was much the same code I had rewritten (what a waste!). And I decided to check that.

I was convinced, that my day was jinxed, so I (very unhurriedly) decided to drop what ever I had written since lunch (around 2 hours of solid coding effort), and reuse whatever was available.

Morally, I had received an upper jab, and how was I to know that knock out punch was just around the corner. (Yep, there is more).

Well, so I had to do what I started. Now, I started working with some speed as well as efficiency. But speed is not necessary your best friend when you’re up for a programming job (speed does kill).

Well, the other file did not have a particular transaction with the database, so I wrote that with the rest of the code. When I ran it, however because of a misplaced bracket, my part of the program totally modified all the values in the database. I was floored. I decided, that maybe, I should just leave it.

Baaah… I give up 😦

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

