View of the outside world from inside a fishbowl

November 23, 2009

geekier than thou

Filed under: humor,philosophy — coolantz @ 10:53 pm

This has been coming in a lot lately. Many people, whom I know, and who might not necessarily know each other, “insist” that I have geekish tendencies.

Who is a geek?

I was always of the opinion, that a geek is someone, who is living at the limits of obsession, of their area of expertise. Maybe a physicist, a doctor, a musician or maybe an artist. By thisdefinition, maybe A.R Rahman could be classified as a geek, so could Amitabh Bacchan. Sachin Tendulkar would be a certain geek. The amount of time they dedicate to their professions, of course they look good doing it too.

Why do I get the label. Seriously, I don’t know. I admit, I have my way around some of the computing devices, which other people find complicated. Doesn’t imply I am obsessed with studying each of their functions. And I certainly do not spend time playing with them either. It’s just an artifact of my profession.

I mean I have noticed some people jut getting edgy with their iphones and blackberries, even in a party full of hot chicks.So much so, that their jokes tend to be about their latest phones/camera. They should be classified geeks.(Dorks/nerds in fact).

I cannot see myself working like a mad man, with any particular activity. Believe me, I’ve seen possessed people, and I am not one of them. Although I do wish I were one of the ones who look beautiful 🙂

haha. wishful thinking. isn’t it?

 

1 Comment »

  1. Nothing wrong with being a geek. I consider myself a nerd, I am indifferent to what the world thinks.

    I suppose people have tendencies towards being their natural self.

    Then again, what you have mentioned is more of an expertise to a superlative degree.

    Essentially, what you are saying is that Brad Pitt is a nerd at looking good and acting, but the general perception of term “Nerd” is those academically talented person who do not get any pussy. But if it was a case of non existense, we will never have electricity, internet, education or the way of life we know without them. Rather, it would be a self infested world.

    End of the day, “Sticking feathers up your butt does not make you a chicken”.

    You are what you are.

    Comment by Mr. X — March 20, 2011 @ 3:35 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

